Rated 4.7/5 based on 107
Awesome Book - by , @book.updated_at
5/ 5stars
This is an awesome book, we should definitely buy it.
Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves

Book Specification

Binding Hardcover
Language English
Number Of Pages 304
Author Jules Montague
Publisher Sceptre
Isbn-10 1473646944
Isbn-13 9781473646940
Dimension 16.21*3.2*23.6

Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves

Jules Montague's Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves

An unforgettable book for Fans of Henry Marsh and Atul Gawande about how we lose ourselves and those around us - and how we can be found again.Who do we become when our minds misbehave? If a loved one changes as a result of a brain disorder, are they still the same person? Could a brain disorder enhance your identity rather than damage it? From dementia and brain injury to sleep disorders, coma, and multiple personality disorder, leading neurologist and journalist Dr Jules Montague explores what remains of the person left behind when the pieces of their mind go missing. Along the way she answers fascinating questions about how we remember, think and behave. Why do some memories endure and others fade? Why do you sometimes forget why you went into a room? And what if rather than losing memories, your mind creates false ones - are they still yours, and do they still make you, you?'This is a book for anyone wanting to understand the human brain and personhood; it is a book for anyone with a loved one with dementia and for those of us who fear dementia. In Montague's hands this landscape is rendered more bearable... Montague takes the reader on an exquisite journey into the human brain and beyond that, to the Metaphysics of personhood. She does this with a humanity rich in tenderness and a beguiling reverence for the unknown.... Occasionally we come across a physicist or economist who, despite their subject matter, can stop you in your tracks. They reel you in without you realising. Montague is a neurologist who does exactly that. She has a rare gift: she makes her craft look simple... Throughout this book Montague displays a maturity and wisdom not always observed in clinicians or indeed any other kind of human.' Irish Times
Store Price Buy Now
Amazon, Hardcover Rs. 1246.0

Why you should read Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves by Jules Montague

This book has been written by Jules Montague, who has written books like Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves. The books are written in Healthy Living & Wellness category. This book is read by people who are interested in reading books in category : Healthy Living & Wellness. So, if you want to explore books similar to This book, you must read and buy this book.

How long would it take for you to read Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves

Depending on your reading style, this is how much time you would take to complete reading this book.

Reading Style Time To Finish The Book
Slow 60 hours
Average 30 hours
Good 20 hours
Excellent 10 hours
So if you are a Reader belonging in the Good category, and you read it daily for 1 hour, it will take you 20 days.
Note: A slow reader usually reads 100 words per minute, an average reader 200 words per minute, an average reader 300 words per minute and an excellent leader reads about 600-1000 words per minute, however the comprehension may vary.

Searches in World for Lost and Found: Memory, Identity, and Who We Become When We're No Longer Ourselves

City Country Count
34
Top Read Books

Top Reads