Rated 4.7/5 based on 107
Awesome Book - by , @book.updated_at
5/ 5stars
This is an awesome book, we should definitely buy it.
Lifeboat 12

Book Specification

Binding Paperback
Language English
Number Of Pages 336
Author Susan Hood
Publisher Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Isbn-10 1481468847
Isbn-13 9781481468848
Dimension 13.03*2.54*19.38

Lifeboat 12

Susan Hood's Lifeboat 12

“This page-turning true-life adventure is filled with rich and riveting details and a timeless understanding of the things that matter most.”—Dashka Slater, author of The 57 Bus “Brilliantly told in verse, readers will love Ken Sparks.” —Patricia Reilly Giff, two-time Newbery Honor winner “Lyrical, terrifying, and even at times funny. A richly detailed account of a little-known event in World War II.” —Kirkus Reviews “Middle grade Titanic fans, here’s your next read.” —BCCB “An edge-of-your seat survival tale.” —School Library Journal (starred review) A Junior Library Guild Selection A 2019 Golden Kite Middle Grade Fiction Award Winner In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II.With Nazis bombing London every night, it’s time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he’s one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum’s glare. And after five days at sea, the ship’s officers announce that they’re out of danger. They’re wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They’ve been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

Popular Tags: Survive Life Lifeboat 12 Ship Author Benares Details Middle Grade Night Story True Events Winner Other Topics

Store Price Buy Now
Amazon, Paperback Rs. 488.0

Why you should read Lifeboat 12 by Susan Hood

This book has been written by Susan Hood, who has written books like Lifeboat 12,Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team,Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World. The books are written in Adventure,History category. This book is read by people who are interested in reading books in category : Adventure. So, if you want to explore books similar to This book, you must read and buy this book.

Other books by same author

Book Binding Language
Lifeboat 12 Paperback English
Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team Hardcover English
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World Hardcover English

How long would it take for you to read Lifeboat 12

Depending on your reading style, this is how much time you would take to complete reading this book.

Reading Style Time To Finish The Book
Slow 67 hours
Average 33 hours
Good 22 hours
Excellent 11 hours
So if you are a Reader belonging in the Good category, and you read it daily for 1 hour, it will take you 22 days.
Note: A slow reader usually reads 100 words per minute, an average reader 200 words per minute, an average reader 300 words per minute and an excellent leader reads about 600-1000 words per minute, however the comprehension may vary.
This is the price history of this book:
Time Price
2019-09-17 16:57:42 +0530

Searches in World for Lifeboat 12

City Country Count
38
Top Read Books

Top Reads